8 Comments

I’m with Alastair - if by “Keep on chugging” he means do what you do…. (Rather than what you think we want/need)

There is a difference between writing responses to questions and prompts from others and writing about what exercises you…. The very best (I reckon) is when a question, idea, or comment from others…excites a response from you. I reckon you, Suzanne, are at your very best when that happens - it flies two birds!

Expand full comment
Jan 7, 2022Liked by Suzanne Moore

Keep on chugging old thing x

Expand full comment

Would love to hear more about small town life - love that kind of stuff! The places we grow up are what make us what we are, even if that means running from them.

Expand full comment

I like the sound of a small town piece. Especially the escaping and then wanting to return.

Not sure what you think of this suggestion but I’ll pop it out there. I (perhaps misguidedly) have a perception of life ‘out there’ for creatives. The writers, poets, artists and mystics of our time … As some (or a lot of us) sit here with our effing awful, small lives I wonder about what it takes to break out of the funk and to live an effing great life? Does it exist? In so many ways we are fortunate with so much and to have such incredible benefits and privileges … yet there’s always this pit of is it/am I enough? What/when is it ever enough? When is it sufficient?

Sorry! Bit profound for She-Ra on a wet, grey, Saturday morning… perhaps it’s something about complacency and settling and then trying to reconcile this with untapped potential?

Happy NY everyone.

Expand full comment

Everything welcome please! I always go to trans issues because it all eats away at me still. But a different subject would be wonderful.

I'm currently dithering about should I move to a small village from suburban Manchester!

Thx.

Expand full comment

Enjoy your writing very much! Got a question about writing for different publications. Do you have to change your style for them? Having arguments with my partner who disregards any Daily Mail article about trans issues (e.g: https://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-11646881/I-asked-daughters-teachers-not-call-boy-reported-social-services.html). I’m always a bit wary of the DM too (try to read across a wide variety of papers & online), but isn’t it sad it’s the more ‘conservative’ papers that are giving the gender critical views a fair platform whilst the Graun, although seeming a bit better lately (thank god for Sonia Sodha in the Observer!) is still not quite there. So does a writer have to adapt their style or does the editor wrangle it to fit? Would be interesting to know! Thanks

Expand full comment